Skip to main content
News - 04.11.18

CAMBA Gardens II wins ULI New York Award!

Dattner Architects is proud to announce that our recently completed CAMBA Gardens project won the EXCELLENCE in Affordable Housing Award – revealed during last night’s 2018 ULI New York (ULI-NY) Awards Gala. CAMBA Gardens II signifies the revitalization of underutilized hospital property into much-needed sustainable and affordable housing co-located with on-campus mental health care services, helping New Yorkers achieve their full potential and generate new jobs.

CAMBA Gardens II, Brooklyn, NY

In an innovative partnership with CAMBA Housing Ventures, NYC Health and Hospitals Corporation agreed to the demolition of a former psychiatric facility, enabling a new housing development ranging from five to nine stories. The central courtyard and perimeter open spaces create a cohesive landscape accessible to all residents and provides a clear visual connection to the outdoors from strategic intersections and end points within the building.

The program creates synergies between providing housing opportunities for formerly homeless and low-income community residents, while elevating design standards for affordable housing. The thoughtful building systems and materials promote sustainability, healthy living, and wellness. CAMBA Gardens II encompasses residential, office, and public spaces including a double height lobby, day lit corridors and stairwells to promote “active design,” community rooms, social service offices, and shared outdoor spaces. The development features on-site social services, 24-hour security, laundry rooms, a computer/study room, two community rooms, and well-appointed, durable and non-toxic finishes.

ULI-NY’s Awards for Excellence recognizes outstanding development projects in the private, public, and nonprofit sectors across New York State that best exemplify ULI’s commitment to responsible land use and creating sustainable, thriving communities. The Awards for Excellence highlights the full development process of a project, not just its architecture or design. Projects that reflect best-in-class development are celebrated in eight categories: office development, housing development, mixed-use development, repositioning or redevelopment, hotel development, institutional development, retail development, and civic space.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now